The Department of Microbiology & Immunology Presents:

The 2022-2023 RGE MURRAY ANNUAL LECTURE

Past Lectures:

2021: Mihai Netea (Radhoud University Medical Center, The Netherlands)	
2020: Jenny Ting University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine)	
2019: Cornelia Weyand (Stanford University School of Medicine)	
2018: Joanna B. Goldberg (Emory University School of Medicine) 2017: Peter Mugyenyi (Joint Clinical Research Centre, Uganda)	
2016: Christopher Glass (University of California, San Diego)	
2015: Rafi Ahmed (Emory University)	
2014: Stephen P. Goff (Columbia University)	
2013: Patrick Keeling (University of British Columbia)	Royal Society of Canada
2011: Rob Knight (University of Colorado at Boulder)	
2009: Dennis Kasper (Harvard Medical School)	
2008: Thomas Silhavy (Princeton University)	2008 Edward Novitski Prize
2007: Bruce Beutler (Scripps Research Institute)	2011 Nobel Prize Physiology/Medicine
2006: Ronald Germain (National Institutes of Health)	
2006: Brett Finlay (University of British Columbia)	Officer of the Order of Canada
2006: Norma Andrews (Yale University)	
2004/2005: John Collier (Harvard Medical School)	



"The role of TIM family genes in regulating autoimmunity and cancer"

Dr. Vijay Kuchroo

Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA

Dr. Vijay Kuchroo is the Samuel L. Wasserstrom Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and Senior Scientist at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston. His major research interests include autoimmune diseases—particularly the role of co-stimulation—the genetic basis of experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis and multiple sclerosis, as well as cell surface molecules and regulatory factors that regulate the induction of T cell tolerance and dysfunction. The Kuchroo laboratory was also the first to describe the TIM family of genes, and identified Tim-3 as an inhibitory receptor expressed on T cells, which is now being exploited for cancer immunotherapy. He was first to describe the development of highly pathogenic Th17 cells, which have been shown to induce multiple different autoimmune diseases in humans. One of his papers describes the development of Th17, which is one of the most cited papers in the field of Immunology.



The RGE Murray Seminar Series is named in honour of Dr. Robert Murray (1919-2022), Professor Emeritus, for his many years of service to the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. Dr. Murray joined Western in 1945, and was the Head of the department from 1949 to 1974. Dr. Murray was a founder of the Canadian Society of Microbiologists, was the founding editor of the Canadian Journal of Microbiology, and was president of the American Society for Microbiology. In 1998 Dr. Murray was invested into the Order of Canada in acknowledgement of his many scientific accomplishments and contributions to the scientific community.



Thursday May 4, 2023 11:00 AM to Noon DSB 1002 Scan to join the lecture via Zoom



